Posted by Sharon Schendel on Jun 30, 2024
We wrapped up the 2023-2024 Rotary Year with a Demotion Party for Matt Kurth to thank him for his successful term as club president.  Matt is a neurologist, so the theme was brains.  Matt gave each of the members of the Board of Directors with an hourglass as a symbol of time’ passage. He then recognized Jim and Karin Davies, Patti Kurtz, Steven McDowell, Kathy Reed, and Sharon Schendel for outstanding service to the club.  Suzy Wagner received the Outstanding Social Engagement Award and accepted the Exemplary Rotarian Legacy Award on behalf of Karl WagnerBill Rawlings received the Grand Gavel Award and Klaus Gubernator the Youth Services Award. Matt also thanked Marty Peters for his long-time service for the club and Janice Kurth for being an amazing Rotary partner.  Last, Matt awarded Susan Maronde with the Rookie of the Year award and Dee House with Rotarian of the Year.  He then donned the club helmet, which Bill Rawlings promises will update the memory of all presidents to enhance the metrics of their term, before handing the gavel to our incoming president Toni Mecaro.
Special thanks to Dee House for making the badges and the centerpieces, Clay Sheffrey for providing a beautiful ride for the guests of honor, Jim Davies for his fun sendup of Matt’s year, Jennifer and Steven McDowell and Toni Mecaro for their hard work with set up and cleanup, Joe McLeod for loan of the BGC tables, and Brett Mattei for providing the beautiful venue. Click HERE to see pictures of party and click HERE to see slides from the party.